Do Not Go Gentle into that good night.

Part of this poem was quoted to me by a prominent doctor at Children’s Hospital when my daughter Veronica was there. I will never forget it-my heart sunk and my throat had a huge lump in it-and the sadness weighed like nothing else-but that was six years ago now, and I found the poem to share, it is truly amazing… here it is…

Do not go gentle into that good night.

Do not go gentle into that good night,

Old rage should burn and rave at close of day;

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men know at their end that dark is right,

Because their words had forked no lightning they

Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death who see with blinding sight

Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,

Rage, rage against the dying of the light

And you my father, there on the sad height,

Curse, bless me now with your fierce tears, I pray

Do not go gentle into that good night.

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Dylan Thomas (1914-1953).

 

About teahouse1

I have a Bible College Diploma, attended the University of Winnipeg, and Camosun College in Victoria. I write poetry, and articles, check out my portfolio at: http://deidre-r-burden.writersresidence.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

thank you- I will reply as soon as possible!

