Song of Tea by: Lu Tung

   Lu Tung- a Buddhist monk in 733-804, was considered the God of tea because he created a Treatise on Tea.” In the treatise he spoke of the many tea delights and the preparation of tea. He described details of tea plantations and the way of processing the tea. Tea in that day was considered a highly esteemed art on the level of painting, poetry and caligraphy. He dedicated himself to tea with a magnificent passion and wrote the following song-

To honor tea, I blocked my gate with leafy boughs,

Lest the noisy crowd disturb me,

and I took my translucent cup

To prepare the tea and savor it in solitude.

The first cup moistened my lips and throat,

The second banished my loneliness.

The third lifted the heaviness that oppressed my mind from

so much study.

The fourth brought a light perspiration that dispersed through

my pores all of life’s afflictions.

The fifth purified me.

The sixth opened the kingdom of the Immortals to me.

The seventh-ah, would that I drink more!

I perceived nothing more than the soft breath of wind that

swelled my sleeves.

Transported by that sweet breeze, I attained the heavens.

Lu Tung

About teahouse1

I have a Bible College Diploma, attended the University of Winnipeg, and Camosun College in Victoria. I write poetry, and articles, check out my portfolio at: http://deidre-r-burden.writersresidence.com
This entry was posted in Tea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

thank you- I will reply as soon as possible!

