Loneliness

Are you going through loneliness? Loneliness can result from past trauma of any kind; whether that be abuse, losing a loved one, enduring unhealthy circumstances, and many other reasons.

You may be going through separation or divorce from a spouse and experiencing hard times of loneliness and despair. Whatever the situation may be; loneliness can be there rearing its ugly head. The world seems gloomy, dark and so terribly sad.

However, the world may also seem to be the same as it was before-the birds still chirp, the air sits still on a hot summer day, the flowers still bloom and fill the air with their sweet fragrance. Planes can be heard droning across a blue sky, while the familiar smell of a family’s summer barbecue lingers at the beach. You exist within this world that is around you, and you are… so very lonely…

Memories may seem strong; they envelop you; hanging on, and causing great sorrow. You stand still and think of how it felt like when you weren’t so lonely, how it felt to feel safe and feel loved and cared for. You now feel so alone, it seems that there is only you in this world of loneliness. You have a deep hole in your heart- a hole that exists in the core of your very being.

Loneliness can haunt us, can cripple our self esteem and cause depression. Sometimes we feel so alone even when surrounded by family and friends. No one seems to be able to help or understand what we are going through.

We long to move on, to feel safe, and to feel whole.

What does the Bible say about Loneliness?:

Taken from, the “New Living Translation

Psalm 142:4-5 ” I look for someone to come and help me, but no one gives me a passing thought! no one will help me; no one cares a bit what happens to me. Then I pray to you, Oh Lord. I say “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life.”

Mark 14:32-37 ” And they came to an olive grove called Gethsamane, and Jesus said, “Sit here while I go and pray.” He took Peter, James, and John with him, and he began to be filled with horror and deep distress. He told them, “My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death. Stay here and watch with me.” He went on a little farther and fell face to the ground . He prayed that, if it were possible, the awful hour awaiting him might pass by. “Abba Father” he said, everything is possible for you. Please take this cup of suffering away from. Yet I want your will, not mine.” Then he turned and found the disciples asleep? “Couldn’t you stay awake and watch with me even one hour?”

Psalm 25:16 “Turn to me and have mercy on me, for I am alone and in deep distress.”

Psalm 68: 5-6 “Father to the fatherless, defender of widows-This is God whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy.”

Philippians 4:13 “For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.”

Isaiah 41:10 “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.”

Reach out to God in your loneliness-He is there, he will be with you, help you, comfort you, take care of you… in every way.

Deidre R. Bissonette

About teahouse1

I have a Bible College Diploma, attended the University of Winnipeg, and Camosun College in Victoria. I write poetry, and articles, check out my portfolio at: http://deidre-r-burden.writersresidence.com
This entry was posted in Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loneliness

  1. Pingback: What I Am « Threads of Red Blog

thank you- I will reply as soon as possible!

