The Shepherd of Psalm 23

                                               Summer Meadow Arkengarthdale

Have you ever felt life is just too difficult sometimes, like your life is in a valley of darkness; A valley that does not seem to end. David, the writer of Psalm 23 in the Bible felt this way. He was alone so much during his life and entirely dependent on God for his strength and provision. “My soul finds rest in God alone.” (Psalm 62:1)

In Psalm 23, David speaks about God as a Shepherd.” The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want, he makes me to lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside the still waters, he restores my soul, he guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” He leads his sheep throughout the day guarding them, and making sure no harm comes to them. The sheep are helpless, frail, and would be lost without the shepherd. At the end of the day the sheep sleep in safety; the shepherd continues to care for them. The sheep are led home safely. The Shepherd sleeps across the gate at night to guard them. I will search for the lost and bring back the strays. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak.” (Ezekiel 34:1)

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have someone in our lives who would take care of us all day long, as well as at night. Someone who was always present ready to help, lead and guide us whenever we are in need? as well as when we are joyful, and at peace. God can be this person, like a shepherd who goes before us, caring for us wherever we are, “I am with you, and will watch over you wherever you go.” (Genesis 28:15)

David Roper in his book, Psalm 23, The Song of a Passionate Heart.” says: “Difficulty and drudgery makes us think of ourselves as being all alone, but he has said, ‘Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you.’ Of him alone can be said, he will never say goodbye.”

Resting in a God that will always lead, guide and take care of us is so reassuring:

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside

the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of

righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, thou I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for thou art with me,

thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me

in the presence of mine enemies:

thou annointest my head with oil;

my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

all the days of my life:

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23

About teahouse1

I have a Bible College Diploma, attended the University of Winnipeg, and Camosun College in Victoria. I write poetry, and articles, check out my portfolio at: http://deidre-r-burden.writersresidence.com
This entry was posted in Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Shepherd of Psalm 23

  1. Pingback: The Lord Is My Shepherd 100611 « Mennonite Preacher

thank you- I will reply as soon as possible!

